The Atlanta Injury News Blog

What is Georgia's Statute of Limitations in Car Accident Lawsuits?

For every lawsuit, there is a time limit for the lawsuit to be brought. That time limit is called the statute of limitations.

While you might think that a car accident lawsuit would have one specific statute of limitations, that might not be the case. Not every motor vehicle accident lawsuit is the same. The facts and circumstances differ and as a result, the statute of limitations could vary.

The statute of limitations is the legal rule that sets the time within which a lawsuit can be brought. A lawsuit must be brought within a certain period of time, otherwise you lose the right to bring the suit. The time can either start running from the discovery of the injury, or from the incident that gave rise to the injury. It really depends on the nature of the lawsuit.

The nature of the lawsuit plays a huge role in the amount of time to bring the lawsuit. A car accident lawsuit could be based on negligence, product liability, wrongful death or property damage.

In Georgia, a plaintiff has 2 years to bring a lawsuit for injury to a person, and 4 years for injury to personal property. This means that in wrongful death claims, the plaintiff (specifically, the victim's family) has two years from the date of death to bring the claim. This time usually starts from the date of the incident leading to death, although there are some exceptions.

The time limit to bring a lawsuit stemming from a car accident depends on many factors. A good car accident lawyer should be able to provide you with some guidance on all aspects of bringing a car accident lawsuit.

To start your research, have a look at our related resources below.

Related Resources: